New Year, New Challenges

2013 Reading Challenge

We’re almost halfway through January already, so I thought I would take some time to talk about the New Year.  I don’t really make resolutions, but the beginning of a new year always seems to signal changes in our lives.  With that in mind, I wanted to share some of my goals for 2013.

The first challenge I have set for myself is to read all of the books on my to-be-read pile before I buy or acquire any new ones.  I actually made this decision in the last couple months of 2012, but I had a slight hiccup when I was given books for Christmas.  Since then, I’ve become more adamant in my goal.  There are about twenty-five books on my list, which is nowhere near as high as some other bloggers, but the idea that I might not read every book I own is a little frustrating to me.  Hopefully, I can enjoy books more without the guilt of two dozen other novels looming over me.

In a similar vein, I’m participating in the 2013 Reading Challenge at Goodreads.  Goodreads runs this challenge every year, with each reader choosing the amount of novels he or she wants to read in the new year.  It’s more of a personal quest than a competition, but I haven’t done it before so I wanted to give it a chance.  My goal is 30 books, which is pretty low compared to others, but I can be a slow reader sometimes.  Luckily, I’ve finished two books already, so I’m ahead of schedule at the moment.  I have added a new section to the right, just above my Twitter feed, where you can track my progress.

My other goals for the year involve writing.  Last summer, I finished the manuscript of my first novel and I’m still working on revisions for that story.  I have been developing ideas for other novels I want to write, but right now my main focus needs to be completing that book.  Aside from creative writing, I also want to maintain this blog, even if it’s just for one post a week.  I haven’t been consistent enough, but I would like that to change.  I want writing to be my career in some capacity, so I need to continue to develop my skills.

How has everyone’s year been so far?  Are you looking forward to any books in 2013?  Have you set any challenges for yourself?

5 thoughts on “New Year, New Challenges

  1. Good luck on your challenge! The finishing all of your books on your to-read pile resolution is a great one – I would never be able to pull that off with over 800 books on mine…

  2. ‘There are about twenty-five books on my list’ <— Awwwh man, those were the days! I never used to have a big tbr pile you know, the problem all started a couple of years ago when school really kicked in and I didn't get as much time to read, but didn't compensate by buying less. Then I found a bookish friend and she started lending me books too, so I got even more behind! Then I got my BLOG and started following loads of book reviews and the rest as they say, is history. :S I'm not as bad as Thomas I have 186 not counting the books my friend has lent me. But I'm really feeling the weight of them now, so much in fact that when I am reading one book I am often thinking about all the other books I have left to read and which I should read next, and I definitely don't want reading to be like that! So that is my challenge.

    Good luck with the Goodreads challenge! I don't usually even manage 30 in a year I'm such a slow reader. Good luck with your writing too! 🙂

    I'm really looking forward to reading The Casual Vacancy, The Night Circus and a load of Trudi Canavan books in 2013, what about you?

    • Yeah, I thought I would try to read all of the books now before the pile becomes too large. I can’t imagine what I would do if I had over a hundred books to read! It would probably be too depressing (not saying you should be depressed, of course). I definitely have the same thoughts when reading a book, where I think about the other books I could be reading, and it’s also difficult when choosing a new book to read.

      I’m a slow reader, too, but I’m hoping the Goodreads challenge convinces me to finish more books. Thanks for the encouragement with my writing!

      I’ve been meaning to read the Night Circus since it came out, and I’m curious about The Casual Vacancy, so I like both of those choices. Otherwise, I’m mostly limited by the books I have, and Stephen King has two books coming out this year that I want to read (including a sequel to the Shining, so I suppose I would have to read that book first).

      As always, thanks for reading and replying!

  3. I only have about 5 books in my collection that I haven’t read yet. This is a low amount compared to you and others, but for me it’s pretty big. I don’t read all that much and have only recently got into it so I’m starting small! I may do that challenge you are doing too, to make sure I keep on reading through the year.

    How goes revising your manuscript?

Leave a Reply

