Summer Reading

A beach on the cover. Seems like a good summer read to me.

Summer might not officially start for another month, so this post could seem premature.  However, my classes ended weeks ago, so I’ve already began my summer reading.  The free time during the summer is a welcome respite after the stress of another year of school.  Being an English major, I read plenty of good books in my classes, but summer is a time when I can finally choose which books I read.

Of course, this summer is a bit more busy than last year.  I have to finish my Honours thesis in the fall, so I’m trying to work on that as much as possible before the fall semester begins.  Similarly, I started Latin classes this past school year, and I need to make sure I don’t forget the entire language over the summer.  Also, I made the mistake of starting Atlas Shrugged and A Game of Thrones right after my semester ended, so I need to finish those gigantic books before I can move down my reading list.

Speaking of my list, I thought I would post some books that I plan on reading.  Some of these I have had for quite some time, because my list constantly grows before I have a chance to finish all of the books, but these are the ones I want to read this summer:

  • Shutter Island by Dennis Lehane
  • Duma Key by Stephen King
  • The Guardians of Ga’Hoole books 2 to 4 by Kathryn Lasky
  • Uncharted:  The Fourth Labyrinth by Christopher Golden
  • The Who By Numbers:  The Story of the Who Through Their Music by Alan G. Parker and Steve Grantley
  • Unfinished Tales by J.R.R. Tolkien
  • Mr. Bliss by J.R.R. Tolkien

Then I plan on reading this book, which comes out in July:

  • The Land of Stories: The Wishing Spell by Chris Colfer

So, that’s my list; what’s yours? Do you read more in the summer?  Do you make summer reading lists?  What books do you want to read this summer?  Reply and/or vote in the poll below:

3 thoughts on “Summer Reading

  1. I love the long summer reading period. Sitting out on the grass in the rays of summer sun, just you and your book. Absolute bliss! 🙂

    Out of curiosity, have you read The Silmarillion by Tolkien? I love his famous works but I’ve seen a lot of negative review on that one, and I think it links with the unfinished tales if I’m correct?

    • Hey Becky. I can always count on you for a comment!

      Yes, I have read the Silmarillion. I enjoyed it, but it’s harder to read because it’s written more like a history book than a novel. So I would only recommend it to people who want to know as much as possible about Middle-earth. I would assume that people are negative because it’s a challenge and it doesn’t have a main story like the Hobbit or LOTR. I’ve heard some of the stories in the Silmarillion are retold with more detail in the Unfinished Tales, but I couldn’t tell you how much of it crosses over. I’m excited to read it, though. I want to read all of his books eventually.

      • Hehe yes you can, well I just can’t help myself because you keep producing good posts! 😉
        Ahh right I see, I was struggling to understand what it was about exactly but that clears it up. I am interested in the history of middle earth so hopefully I will enjoy it when I get round to it. I want to read all his books too, the man is a genius!

Leave a Reply

